• 25

American Concrete Institute-Malaysia Chapter (ACI-Malaysia Chapter), in collaboration with the University of Malaya (UM) and Concrete Society Malaysia (CSM) organised the Malaysian Concrete Canoe Competition (MCCC) 2017 on 25 and 26 November 2017 at Varsity Lake, University of Malaya (UM). 

MCCC 2017 was officially launched by the Deputy Minister, Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation (MOSTI), Datuk Wira Dr. Abu Bakar Mohamad Diah. The two-day event had ACI-Malaysia Chapter committee registering the Malaysia Book Record for Malaysia’s Longest Concrete Canoe for the opening ceremony. Various activities were arranged for the event such as MCCC 2017 booths that showcased interesting innovative displays, food trucks galore, non-Newtonian walking-on-water challenge, and various performances. 

One of the many objectives of MCCC was to create opportunity for civil engineering students to gain hands-on, practical experience by working with innovative in concrete mix designs and exert their leadership skill in project management and also as a platform to bridge the connection between practitioners, students and industry leaders with general public, raising the awareness of the versatility of concrete as construction material.

The main challenges for the participants were to construct concrete canoes within rules and regulations to pass the test of floating when submerged in the water and to be able to compete in the men’s and women’s endurance races, men’s and women’s sprint races and co-ed sprint race. Attractive prizes were offered for the top five places of overall winners with cash prizes of RM20,000, RM10,000, RM5,000, RM2,500 and RM1,000 with trophies respectively. In addition, there were special awards given for the best design poster, best oral presentation, best final product, endurance races, sprint races, spirit of the competition and most innovative canoe.

Aside from UM, also participating this year’s competition were Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM), Universiti Teknologi Malaysia (UTM), Universiti Teknologi Mara (UiTM), Universiti Malaysia Sarawak (UNIMAS), Universiti Selangor (UNISEL) and University College of Technology Sarawak (UCTS).

Viewed : 3337 Last Update: November 24, 2017