The Bachelor of Information Technology programme started in the 1996/97 academic session, with an initial intake of 50 students. In 1997, the Faculty established four Departments, Artificial Intelligence, Software Engineering, Information and Library Science, and Computer Systems and Technology.

To accommodate an increased student population, an additional building was built in 1997-98 which was officially opened by Dato' Dr. Fong Chan Onn, Deputy Minister of Education on 21st September 1998.

The Master of Computer Science (M.Comp.Sc.) and Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) programmes were two higher degree research programmes approved by the Senate and had been administered by the Computer Centre since 1985. In addition, the Computer Centre offered a 4-year Bachelor of Computer Science programme. The first undergraduate enrollment for 1990/91 session was 50 students.

Since its establishment, the Faculty of Computer Science and Information Technology has been led by a number of distinguished persons.

Last Update: February 11, 2019